10th October

Friday is a day that is traditionally devoted to meditation of Our Lord’s Passion. The PetitionsJesus Crucified for Evening Prayer are based on the Seven Last Words from the Cross. These in themselves are a summary of the Gospel. Read them with a prayerful pondering.

Father, Christ prayed that we be forgiven through his passion. As you accepted him, accept his prayer for all sinners.

Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.

Through his beloved disciple, Jesus gave us Mary to be our mother;

with her we pray to you for all her children.

Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.

Father, heed the anguish of those who cry out to you with your Son:

’My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?’

Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.

Help us to hear the cry, ‘I thirst’;

help us to see your Son, even in the least of his brothers.

Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.

To the man dying with him, Jesus said, ‘Truly I say to you, this day you will be with me in Paradise.’

Father, let these words be heard again by those who die tonight.

Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.

We pray for those who have gone before us, signed with the sign of the cross:

may they rise with Christ in power when his voice resounds again through the universe: ‘It is consummated.’

  • Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.

 Sr Anne Marie Walsh is a past General Sister Servant of my SOLT community and a sr anne mariespeaker/writer of no small repute. The following is a link to some of her articles on a Catholic website if you would like some further reading: http://catholic365.com/author/sr-anne-marie

 

 

 

Jon’s last words aren’t just yet!

garfieldz57

 

