15th July – Memorial of St Bonaventure.

I returned to Donegal yesterday after a few days with my mother’s people in Clare followed by a visit home to Kenmare. I had another photo taken with my new grandnephew Mikey Brown who is now 7 months old.

LMA 062

While waiting for my last bus connection last night I got to explore Donegal Town. The following is a photo of a paupers/mass grave which dates back to the time of the Famine. In the second photo is a big metal pot which was used to cook food for as many as 800 people daily during this time.

LMA 065

LMA 064While travelling up on the bus, I read this quote on Christian witness:

To be a witness does not consist in engaging in propaganda (like writing blogs!), not even in stirring people up, but in being a living mystery. It means to live in such a way that one’s life would not make sense if God didn’t exist. Emmanuel Cardinal Suhard.

