26th January – Ss Timothy & Titus

Today I had the first half of the bone marrow transplant which consisted of a single dose of Melphalan chemotherapy. This will kill off my present bone marrow and the vast majority of the cancer within. Un-intended consequences of this chemo is that it will knock out my digestive system for a few weeks causing nausea, diarrhoea, vomiting, etc. It will also affect my blood with respect to iron, platelet, potassium levels as well as neutrophils which assist the immune system to fight infections. In a few days I will be moved to an isolation room for the remained of my stay in the hospital. All day I’ve been on high levels of I V fluids which resulted in me passing some 5.5 litres of urine since the morning!

Today we have the memorial of Saints Timothy and Titus who were companions of St integrityPaul and to whom he wrote two epistles. This is the prayer that we say concerning them in the Brievary and Mass:

Almighty God,

you endowed Saint Timothy and Saint Titus with power to preach your word.

Grant that, living a life of integrity and holiness in this world,

  we may, through their prayers, come to our true home in heaven.

Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son,

who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit,

one God, for ever and ever.

This prayer reminds us that life is a journey to heaven and that the intercession of the saints gives us vital help on the way. The mention of integrity reminds us of the importance of honesty – that we should never do anything in a hidden way that we would not consider doing as a public event.

 

