9th February – Shrove Tuesday

Today I became aware of the size of infection I picked up in my chest where the hickman line was inserted. A standard blood test for infections will register 5 or less if there is no infection. In my case it went as high as 110. It currently sits at 46. It has been treated with two different IV antibiotics and is currently responding well to treatment. I continue to receive blood top-ups for phosphate. My appetite is reasonably well and I’m eating enough to maintain my body weight. Diarrhoea is certainly clearing up.

In today’s Mass which I again concelebrated in the hospital chapel, Jesus was critical of Jesus-vs-Phariseethe Pharisees because of their hypocrisy and double standards. As we heard in the gospel:

He answered, ‘It was of you hypocrites that Isaiah so rightly prophesied in this passage of scripture:
This people honours me only with lip-service,
while their hearts are far from me.
The worship they offer me is worthless,
the doctrines they teach are only human regulations.

When I read such passages I am always led to look at myself and ask if I have similar blind spots to those of the Pharisees. I generally say the two following prayers in response. They are verses from the Psalms.

  • From hidden faults acquit me Lord.
  • May the spoken words of my mouth, the thoughts of my heart, win favour in your sight O Lord, my rescuer, my rock.

 

 

