9th May

I had a routine clinic today in Cork to receive my 4-weekly bone strengthening medicine. I met the consultant who said that she was happy with all the results so far whilst awaiting the final test results of the bone marrow biopsy. My care will then need to be formally transferred to Letterkenny General Hospital. Hopefully this can all be done before the end of May, the time when I hope to be back in Donegal.

Mrs Higgins, the wife of the Irish President has intervened in the abortion debate by advocating the right to terminate unborn babies with life-limiting conditions (aka fatal fetal abnormalities – many such infants live for a considerable time after birth). This is highly unusual and contrary to the office of President which is meant to be impartial on such matters. I rang the phone number for the President’s Office (01) 617 1000 to register my upset with Mrs Higgins’ intervention. I was invited to put my view in writing and was given this email address FininOMurchu@president.ie One can also write to Mrs Higgins at Aras an Uacharainn, Dublin. In my email, I asked Mrs Higgins if she would approve of terminating born babies with such life limiting conditions.

In today’s gospel Jesus says to us “In the world you will have trouble, but be brave: I footprints sandhave conquered the world.” (John 16:33) Jesus is our Good Shepherd who has conquered even death and who wishes to lead us to the verdant pastures of our heavenly homeland. Even while on the journey, he is with us every step of the way to watch over us. The story of FOOTPRINTS IN THE SAND is one expression of this http://www.onlythebible.com/Poems/Footprints-in-the-Sand-Poem.html . So also is this stanza of Ps 23: “Even though I go through the dark valley, no evil would I fear. You are there with your crook and your staff, with these you give me comfort.”

 

