8th June

My Gatwick flight yesterday was delayed and I missed my intended bus from Dublin airport back to Donegal Town. It meant that I didn’t get to bed til 00:45 which is a bit past my usual bedtime!

I had a clinic today in Letterkenny hospital. I was expecting to get started on maintenance medicine immediately but the consultant wants to run tests on the blood samples they took and then see me again in 2 weeks time. As we say in Gaelic “Sín Sín” (There you are).

Here is a photo from last Saturday’s wedding of Simone and Tim in Brockley, London. Also in the photo is Sr Mary Trinity of the SOLT community.

wedding

I made a point of saying in my opening comments at the nuptial Mass that it was a privilege to officiate at a marriage that was preceded by a Christian courtship. Nobody threw anything at me!

mercifulEarlier in the day I was present in the Brockley parish for the Requiem Mass of Laura Bannerman. The homilist spoke about the Year of Mercy logo of the Good Shepherd and that nothing can dislodge us from his shoulders (except of course our own freewill). The funeral reading he was referring to was a longer extract of  the reading from today’s Morning Prayer:

Nothing can come between us and the love of Christ, even if we are troubled or worried, or being persecuted, or lacking food or clothes, or being threatened or even attacked. These are the trials through which we triumph, by the power of him who loved us. (Romans 8:35,37)

