10th June

I recently came across a quote of St John Paul II (1995) that speaks loudly to modern culture.cross 1 It says: “Freedom consists not in doing what we like, but in having the right to do what we ought.” It is about singing “I did it the right way (God’s way) rather than singing with Frank Sinatra “I did it my way”.

This abusive notion of freedom and personal autonomy that rides over the rights of others is at the heart of the pro-abortion / pro-choice philosophy. Yesterday my ears were accosted by a news report that some UN body had criticised Ireland’s pro-life laws that restricts access to abortion. No reference was made to the terrible plight of the unborn baby that gets dismembered in the abortion procedure!

Christian freedom is to be seen at its greatest when we contemplate Jesus voluntarily taking on our sins and offering his life in atonement on the Cross.

