9th July

Last Wednesday I was informed by the consultant that she wants to change my chemotherapy treatment. She wants to terminate my current maintenance regime (low dose) and change it to a full dose version to “consolidate” last January’s bone marrow transplant. That means that for the next 6 weeks I will be on the same regime of 3 drugs that I was on last Autumn when the cancer came back. This involves 2 clinic visits a week for two weeks, followed by a week off. After 2 cycles (6 weeks) I am likely to return to a low dose maintenance, depending on my blood results.

I feel good about this as I received a similar full dose chemotherapy after my first bone marrow transplant in 2013. The full dose chemo shouldn’t affect me too much, but I may have to avoid some social occasions depending on how my immune system is at the time.

On of the concerns I have as a pastor is double standards in honesty. This mindset equates judgementto dishonesty in the area of taking sick days, payment of taxes, claims for social welfare benefits, etc. I receive daily Catechism bulletins and the following illustrate that such double standards in honesty are not permissible in God’s eyes.

What is the seventh commandment of God? The seventh commandment of God is: Thou shalt not steal.

Thou shalt not steal. (Exodus 20:15)

What are we commanded by the seventh commandment? By the seventh commandment we are commanded to respect what belongs to others, to live up to our business agreements, and to pay our just debts.

Better is a little with justice, than great revenue with iniquity. (Proverbs 16:8)

What does the seventh commandment forbid? Besides stealing, the seventh commandment forbids cheating, unjust keeping of what belongs to others, unjust damage to the property of others, and the accepting of bribes by public officials.

Do not any unjust thing in judgment, in rule, in weight, or in measure. Let the balance be just and the weights equal, the bushel just, and the sextary equal. (Leviticus 19:35-36)

Are we obliged to restore to the owner stolen goods, or their value? We are obliged to restore to the owner stolen goods, or their value, whenever we are able.

If any man steal an ox or a sheep, and kill or sell it, he shall restore five oxen for one ox, and four sheep for one sheep. (Exodus 22:1)

Are we obliged to repair damage unjustly done to the property of others? We are obliged to repair damage unjustly done to the property of others, or to pay the amount of the damage, as far as we are able.

If any man hurt a field or a vineyard, and put in his beast to feed upon that which is other men’s, he shall restore the best of whatsoever he hath in his own field, or in his vineyard, according to the estimation of the damage. (Exodus 22:5)

 

 

