14th July

Today’s gospel is Matt 11:28-30carry cross

Jesus exclaimed: ‘Come to me, all you who labour and are overburdened, and I will give you rest. Shoulder my yoke and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Yes, my yoke is easy and my burden light.’

Reflections from DGEM app / www.jesuit.org.sg

  • In today’s Gospel, Jesus extends His Compassionate Love to all those who are burdened in life and find their trials, overwhelming.  He assures us that we will “find rest for our souls.”  When in need, do we trust Jesus wholeheartedly or only half-heartedly?  Where do we find our strength and hope?
  • Ponder on the pattern of your daily life and try to identify some life-giving ways i.e. Christ-like ways, of living, working and relating to people.
  • If we learn to thank God for His daily blessings, we will truly find that our “burdens are light.” Thus we will see that God is shouldering our burdens with and for us and none can be “too heavy” for Him.

 

