12th August

I had my last chemo clinic of the current hi-dose series today, praise the Lord. My immune system seems unaffected by the 6 week programme as the neutrophil reading is above 4, 2 being the start of the normal/green range. I had a meeting with the consultant about what comes next. My next clinic will be Wed Aug 24 which will begin a 2 year, low-dose, maintenance program. It will include a 2 year continuous prescription of the thalidomide drug, Lenalidomide. The dose level will be 15mg rather than the current 25mg. At the end of every 3 months, I will have 3 weekly injections of the other drug I’ve been on, Velcade. We’re rocking on!

Today we remember Jesus’ Passion and Death. The Reading (2 Cor 12:9-10) from Morning believe-i-nJesusPrayer is worth pondering.

I shall be very happy to make my weaknesses my special boast so that the power of Christ may stay over me, and that is why I am quite content with my weaknesses, and with insults, hardships, persecutions, and the agonies I go through for Christ’s sake. For it is when I am weak [and not able to rely on my own strength and resources] that I am strong [and having to depend on the sustaining power and presence of Christ in my life].

 

