26th September

For the last few days I’ve had visitor-friends from Athy, one of my previous parishes. Today we went to see Glenveagh National Park and places associated with St Colm Cille (*521 +597) – one of Ireland’s three patron saints. Yesterday we went to visit Kincasslagh, the hometown of singer Daniel O’Donnell. Here are some photos.

lma-116

Elaine, Maura and Sadie outside the Parochial House

lma-115

Glenveagh National Park A

lma-113

Glenveagh National Park B

lma-110

Glenveagh Castle

lma-109

St Colm Cille’s Abbey. The stone wall around the cemetery marks its boundary.

lma-117

Kincasslagh – Hometown of Daniel O’Donnell!

We sometimes hear that so-and-so lives to work. When it comes to St Paul, he lived to serve Christ and the gospel. This comes through powerfully in today’s Office of Readings which is taken from Philippians 1:12-26.

My one hope and trust is that I shall never have to admit defeat, but that now as always I shall have the courage for Christ to be glorified in my body, whether by my life or by my death. Life to me, of course, is Christ, but then death would bring me something more; but then again, if living in this body means doing work which is having good results – I do not know what I should choose. I am caught in this dilemma: I want to be gone and be with Christ, which would be very much the better, but for me to stay alive in this body is a more urgent need for your sake. This weighs with me so much that I feel sure I shall survive and stay with you all, and help you to progress in the faith and even increase your joy in it.

