25th January – Conversion of St Paul, Apostle

I travelled back OK from Hythe, Kent in time to say an 8pm Mass in the parish. There was a bit of a panic in the morning as train delays meant that I arrived at Gatwick an hour later than planned. I decided to go for the fast option through security. The lady said I had to pay the fee at another part of the airport but waved me on without any fee. I said BLESS YOU! and afterwards offered up a MEMORARE for her.

st paul conversionToday is the feast of the Conversion of St Paul and the end of the week of prayer for Christian Unity. The antiphon for Mid Morning Prayer was: Brother Saul, I have been sent by the Lord Jesus, who appeared to you on the way, that you may recover your sight and be filled with the Holy Spirit. It tells us that St Paul’s blindness and recovery of his eyesight is a sign of his moral blindness and then receiving spiritual vision by the light of the Holy Spirit in his life. In this way he was truly able to live in the Truth and know God’s Will. For this reason I say the Holy Spirit Prayer at least two times a day. I have it copied below.

The reading for Mid Morning Prayer  is a beautiful reflection on what it is to have an attitude of gratitude in our lives and to celebrate God’s goodness.

I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has given me strength, and who judged me faithful enough to call me into his service even though I used to be a blasphemer and did all I could to injure and discredit the faith. But God was merciful to me. (1 Timothy 1:12-13)

Rejoice and be glad, says the Lord, because your names are written in heaven.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Come O Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful and enkindle in them the fires of your love, send forth your Spirit and they shall be created and you shall renew the face of the earth.

O God who by the light of the Holy Spirit do instruct the hearts of the faithful, grant that by the gift of the same Holy Spirit we may be always truly wise and ever rejoice in his consolation, through Christ our Lord, AMEN.

 

