27th January – St Angela Merici

I had another routine chemo clinic today. Blood test was fine, TG.

This recent PREMIER CHRISTIAN MEDIA reflection by Dr Micha Jazz is about one of the parables from today’s gospel passage at Mass.

seedlingHere is another illustration Jesus used: “The Kingdom of Heaven is like a mustard seed planted in a field. It is the smallest of all seeds, but it becomes the largest of garden plants; it grows into a tree, and birds come and make nests in its branches.” Matt 13:31-32

Moving from a life lived within cities to a more rural context with Mum, we experienced some sleepless nights wondering how we would manage the garden. I had no gardening implements to my name and had previously enjoyed green spaces courtesy of the local council, rather than our own garden.

However, with the encouragement of neighbours and a fascination with experimentation, I created a herb bed. I soon discovered that starving a plant of water would kill it, and that weeds needed removing quickly to prevent them from overwhelming what I’d planted.

I’ve seen a mustard seed, yet never (apart from online) a mustard tree. The contrast is considerable. The seed can literally get lost in the creases of your palm, while the tree grows to produce a thick and wide canopy of leaves. This is the mystery of God’s kingdom and a challenge for us all. I found and sowed my “mustard seed” at age 19 [when I committed my life to Jesus], so some 40 years later there surely must be something pretty evident to notice. Four decades of spiritual growth have produced evidence demonstrating to others the quality of my life to date.

As I continue to struggle with expressing behaviours consistent with God’s kingdom, I reflect on the path of my life, decisions taken, sometimes in haste – on many occasions in what I perceived was my best interest. In this the afternoon of my life, I want the story of my life to offer the gift of years gazing upon God and deepening my friendship with God, to offer hospitality to all comers that they too might take a cutting [from my Christian witness] and nurture their own kingdom life.

QUESTION: What evidence do others see of the kingdom of God in your daily life?

PRAYER: Lord, sow your life and truth into my life that it might serve your kingdom.

