13th February

Today’s Office of Readings (Proverbs 3) commends us to be faithful to God’s Commandments. This is true wisdom.

My son, forget not my teaching,listentogod
keep in mind my commands;
For many days, and years of life,
and peace, will they bring you.
Let not loyalty and faithfulness leave you;
bind them around your neck;
Then will you win favor and good esteem
before God and man.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
on your own intelligence rely not;
In all your ways be mindful of him,
and he will make straight your paths.

Happy the man who discovers wisdom,
  the man who gains discernment:
gaining her is more rewarding than silver,
  more profitable than gold.
She is beyond the price of pearls,
  nothing you could covet is her equal.
In her right hand is length of days;
  in her left hand, riches and honour.
Her ways are delightful ways,
  her paths all lead to contentment.
She is a tree of life for those who hold her fast,
  those who cling to her live happy lives.

 

Responsory

℟. I loved Wisdom more than health or beauty; I preferred her to the light of day;* all good things came to me together with her.

℣. Wisdom I loved; I sought her out when I was young, and I fell in love with her beauty;* all good things came to me together with her.

 

 

 

