10th May

This is the reflection on today’s gospel (see below) from the Irish Catholic Bishops’ website.

Gospel Reflection                       Fourth Week of Easter            John 12:44-50

jesus-giftIn this morning’s gospel reading Jesus speaks of the one who sent him. Frequently in John’s gospel, Jesus speaks of God as the one who sent him. God sent his Son out of love for the world. God’s sending of his Son was an act of generosity on God’s part, involving a real giving. The gospel of John also speaks of God as one who gave his Son. In the first reading this morning, the church of Antioch send two of their most gifted members to parts of the Roman Empire where Christ had not yet been preached. The sending off of Barnabas and Paul by the church of Antioch involved a real giving on their part. They were sacrificing two of their most valuable assets for the sake of others whose need was greater. Over the centuries the local church has sent and given some of its most gifted members to proclaim the gospel far from home. That is the nature of the church and the nature of our lives as Christians. We give away what is most precious to us so that others can benefit from our resources. Each local church, each parish, is called not just to serve itself, but to serve other parishes, other local churches, whether next door or far away. As God gave his Son to us, we are called to give his Son to each other by sharing our most precious resources.

__________________________________

The Gospel reflection comes from WEEKDAY REFLECTIONSTo know the love of Christ 2016/2017 by Martin Hogan published by  The Messenger c/f www.messenger.ie
_
_______________________________________________

Gospel                               John 12:44-50
I, the light, have come into the world.

Jesus declared publicly:

‘Whoever believes in me
believes not in me
but in the one who sent me,
and whoever sees me,
sees the one who sent me.
I, the light, have come into the world,
so that whoever believes in me
need not stay in the dark any more.
If anyone hears my words
and does not keep them faithfully,
it is not I who shall condemn him,
since I have come not to condemn the world,
but to save the world:
he who rejects me
and refuses my words has his judge already:
the word itself that I have spoken will be his judge on the last day.
For what I have spoken does not come from myself;
no, what I was to say, what I had to speak,
was commanded by the Father who sent me,
and I know that his commands mean eternal life.
And therefore what the Father has told me is what I speak.’

The Gospel of the Lord.     

