15th May

Today’s gospel is below followed by the Irish Bishops’ commentary. The main point is the importance of fidelity to God’s Word and commandments as per the sections I have bolded. If Jesus is Lord of our lives, there is no escaping the importance of living by his Word as we see in Our Lady’s Fiat: I am the handmaiden of the Lord, let it be done unto me according to thy Word.

GOSPEL:                    John 14:21-26      
The Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything

God Holy Spirit

J
esus said to his disciples:

‘Anybody who receives my commandments and keeps them
will be one who loves me;
and anybody who loves me will be loved by my Father,
and I shall love him and show myself to him.’

Judas – this was not Judas Iscariot – said to him, ‘Lord, what is all this about? Do you intend to show yourself to us and not to the world?’
Jesus replied:

‘If anyone loves me he will keep my word,
and my Father will love him,
and we shall come to him
and make our home with him.
Those who do not love me do not keep my words.
And my word is not my own:
it is the word of the one who sent me.
I have said these things to you while still with you;
but the Advocate, the Holy Spirit,
whom the Father will send in my name,
will teach you everything
and remind you of all I have said to you.’

The Gospel of the Lord.
_____________________________

Gospel Reflection,              Monday,               Fifth Week of Easter

We are in the season of Easter which will continue until the feast of Pentecost on next Sunday two weeks. As we draw gradually closer to the feast of Pentecost, we hear an increasing reference to the Holy Spirit in the liturgy. This morning Jesus promises that the Father will send the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, to teach his disciples everything and to remind them of all that Jesus has said. One of the roles of the Holy Spirit is to lead us into a deeper understanding of all that Jesus did and said. In that sense, the Holy Spirit leads us to Jesus, just as Jesus leads us to the Father. It is the Holy Spirit who helps us to hear what Jesus said as a word addressed to us today; the Holy Spirit brings Jesus close to us, makes him present and brings his word to life for us. That is why as we sit to listen to the Lord’s word it is good to invoke the coming of the Holy Spirit, and to invite the Spirit to bring that word alive for us. The Holy Spirit helps us to listen fruitfully to the Lord’s word; the Holy Spirit enables us also to make a heartfelt response to that word, both in prayer and in how we live. We very much need the Holy Spirit; that is why the church encourages us to pray, ‘Come Holy Spirit’ especially during these weeks as we prepare for the feast of Pentecost.

__________________________________

The Gospel reflection comes from WEEKDAY REFLECTIONSTo know the love of Christ 2016/2017 by Martin Hogan published by  The Messenger c/f www.messenger.ie
_
_______________________________________________

 

